The development around St Luke's church

in Victorian times

The area around St Luke's church is a hidden Victorian gem in modern day Maidstone. Here we explain a little bit about its history.

 

St Luke's was developed between 1875 and 1905 with the construction of good quality two and three bedroom houses for workers and their families in Maidstone's booming brewing and paper industries. 

1879 Map_edited.jpg

1879 Map

This 1879 heritage map shows the start of the development of the St Luke's parish, with the area built on land dedicated to orchards and allotments. Mrs Louisa Whatman, widow of James Whatman, Jnr, the owner of the Whatman paper-making empire, donated land for the building of the church of St Luke's in 1896.

SourceKent County Council Heritage Maps  (1879)

1907 Map

By the time the 1907 map was published, the development of St Luke's was mostly complete. Mrs Whatman herself developed a number of roads, including the south side Salisbury Road, before her death at the age of 79 in 1905.

SourceKent County Council Heritage Maps  (1907)

1907 St Lukes and Salisbury_edited.jpg